New Hampshire

Home | News | Events

New Hampshire is home to over 1.3 million people across 10 counties in the Granite State.

Are you a volunteer interested in becoming an advocate for Move to Amend? Click here to sign up!

Communities in Support

Alongside hundreds of thousands of individuals have signed our Motion to Amend petition, there have been over 700 communities and states that have passed public resolutions, ordinances, and ballot initiatives supporting the We the People Amendment. Below is a list of resolutions that were passed by elected political bodies (i.e. state legislatures, or county/city/town/village councils), residents who voted at Town Hall meetings, or by voters following organized ballot campaigns by Move to Amend supporters in New Hampshire.

Passing local resolutions in support of amending the constitution is a great way to educate the public and to send a strong signal to legislators that people care about these issues. Click here for information on how to organize a resolution campaign in your community!

Resolutions & Ordinances Passed

Andover Town Meeting

Bradford Town Meeting

Bridgewater Town Meeting

Bristol Town Meeting

Chesterfield Town Meeting

Conway Town Meeting

Cornish Town Meeting

Dorchester Town Meeting

Francestown Town Meeting

Groton Town Meeting

Hancock Town Meeting

Henniker Town Meeting

Hanover Town Meeting

Harrisville Town Meeting

Hollis Town Meeting

Jackson Town Meeting

Jaffrey Town Meeting

Lyme Town Meeting

Madbury Town Meeting

Mason Town Meeting

New Durham Town Meeting

Newmarket Town Council

Nottingham Town Meeting

Piermont Town Meeting

Plymouth Town Meeting

Sanbornton Town Meeting

Sandwich Town Meeting

Stratham Town Meeting

Tilton Town Meeting

Warner Town Meeting

Webster Town Meeting

Ballot Initiatives Passed

Citizens of Alstead

Citizens of Amherst

Citizens of Barrington

Citizens of Danville

Citizens of Deerfield

Citizens of Exeter

Citizens of Gilmanton

Citizens of Hampstead

Citizens of Hudson

Citizens of Kingston

Citizens of Lee

Citizens of Milford

Citizens of New Boston

Citizens of Newfields

Citizens of Northwood

Citizens of Pelham

Citizens of Peterborough

Citizens of Rindge

Citizens of Rye

Citizens of Salem

Citizens of Sandown

Citizens of Wakefield

Citizens of Windham

Citizens of Sandown

Citizens of Wakefield

Citizens of Windham

On March 11, 2014, Article 10 passed in Sharon. It reads:

“By petition of 10 or more eligible voters of the town of Sharon to see if the town will urge: That the New Hampshire State Legislature join nearly 500 municipalities and 16 other states, including all other New England states, in calling upon Congress to move forward a constitutional amendment that guarantees the right of our elected representatives and of the American people to safeguard fair elections through authority to regulate political spending, and clarifies that constitutional rights were established for people, not corporations. That the New Hampshire Congressional delegation support such a constitutional amendment. That the New Hampshire State Legislature support such an amendment once it is approved by Congress and sent to the State for ratification. The record of the vote approving this article shall be transmitted by written notice to New Hampshire’s congressional delegation, and to New Hampshire’s state legislators, and to the President of the United States informing them of the instructions from their constituents by the selectmen within 30 days of the vote.”

Endorsing Organizations

More than 600 local, state, and national organizations have come forward to support the passage of the We the People Amendment. Below are the New Hampshire-based organizations that formally call on our federal representatives to pass the We the People Amendment, and our local and state representatives to enact resolutions and legislation to advance this effort. 

If your organization, business, union, faith community, or local governmental organization would like to sign on as a supporter of this effort, click here to add your endorsement!

Barnstead, NH (Ordinance, 03/01/2006)

Democratic Party of New Hampshire

Leftist Marching Band

Nottingham, NH (Ordinance, 03/15/2008)

New Hampshire's Congressional Delegation


Jeanne Shaheen
Jeanne Shaheen

Cosponsor: NO
Pledge Signer: NO

DC Office: 
506 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-2841
Fax: (202) 228-3194

Margaret “Maggie” Hassan
Margaret “Maggie” Hassan

Cosponsor: NO
Pledge Signer

DC Office:
324 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-3324
Fax: (202) 228-0581


1st District:

Cosponsor: NO
Pledge Signer: NO

DC Office:
319 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-5456

View District Map

2nd District:

Cosponsor: YES (117th, 118th)
Pledge Signer: NO

DC Office:
320 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
Phone: (202) 225-5206
Fax: (202) 225-2946

View District Map