May Day commemoration: Railroad union reps on holding Norfolk Southern accountable for E. Palestine disaster

Thursday, April 27, 2023 | 5 pm Pacific time, 8 pm Eastern time

Register below to be sent Zoom call details


  • John Esterly, Chair and Legislative Representative, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen, Ohio 
  • Clyde Whitaker, State Legislative Director, Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation (SMART), Ohio
  • Jennie Spanos, Co-Director, National Move to Amend Coalition, Moderator

The Norfolk Southern train derailment in East Palestine, Ohio on February 3 has resulted in ongoing health issues among residents and crises in the community and others nearby following the spill and “controlled” burning of extremely hazardous chemicals from railcars that’s polluted the air, land and water. 

The railroad industry -- thanks for their corporate constitutional "rights" -- lobbied over the last several years to weaken numerous safety regulations to railcars and braking systems, train length and weight and to railroad workers. The response to the derailment by the railroad corporation, government and regulatory agencies has been nowhere near what's needed to provide relief and recovery.

Railroad workers and their unions warned long before the derailment of inadequate safety measures threatening workers, area residents and communities. They now are working with others to hold Norfolk Southern Railroad Corporation fully accountable for the accident  and are educating and organizing for changes to prevent future derailments. 

Register below to receive Zoom call details

Join us for this event as we commemorate “May Day” (May 1) – International Workers’ Day – a few days early for the contributions of workers and the working class for justice in so many forms.

April 27, 2023 at 5:00pm - 6pm
Geneva Omann Carla Rautenberg Jennie Shasky G Coleridge Deb Hogshead Steve Ongerth Margaret Koster Connie Hammond marcia schulz Jill Ferguson Werner Lange Ann Turner Sandy Bolzenius Teddy Potts Jack Barbier catherine podojil Ruth Standiford Elizabeth Vild Diana King Cynthia Stewart Mara Beldavs Marianne Flanagan James Hilton William Lyons Gail Woon Veronica Schweyen William Davis MaryAnn Osterbrink Peter Rachleff Peter Morgan Jared Cassity James Dodson Clyde Whitaker Garrick Balk Joy Mann jenna colby Roman Aleksander Cole Bennett Pat Montee Lawrence Abbott Robert Robbins Lynn Shoemaker Susan Kuehn Karen Jacques Anahata Pomeroy Danett Abbott-Wicker Steven Berge Fernanda Lugo

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?